Home Forum Columns Galleries Archives About

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: WHAT PAINT CAN I USE TO PAINT MY CUSTOM DC FIGURES???
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:05 pm 
You hear that? We're using CODE names...

I am new to all of the action figure customization, and I wanted to know what paint I could use to make my figures look like the ones that the four horsemen show at comic con. They look so awesome that they don't even look like plastic at all. They almost look like mini statues. Please help me and thank you!! :mrgreen:

Post subject: Re: WHAT PAINT CAN I USE TO PAINT MY CUSTOM DC FIGURES???
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:03 am 
Shudders at the Thought of Swamp-Crotch Chafing

Actually, the figures the 4H show usually aren't plastic action figures.

If they are showing the 2ups or paint masters, they literally are "little statues" and more of a casting material or wax than they are plastic.

As for paints, check out your local modeller's shop and try some of the acrylic based paints. Most will work well for action figures that have been given a base coat of primer and every customizer will likely recommend their own personal preference brand.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:02 am 

Wow. Really? That is a bummer cause they look awesome!

As far as the paint, I really don't like the custom figures looking shiny, but more of a statue coloring...do you still recommend acrylic paint for that?

And also is the acrylic paint also looks good on statues?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:29 am 
Shudders at the Thought of Swamp-Crotch Chafing

To get rid of the shiny finish you will need to use a Matte sealer. "Matte" is the magic word you want to look for.